Piraeus and Updates

on

 

I am in a sit-down style Haagen-Dazs right now.  Plush couches are all over the place, there is a second floor with more booths and pouf chairs, and a waiter takes your ice cream order.  I never even imagined an ice cream place this fancy.  Of course, I had to try the creme brulée chocolate crunch.  Chocolate, banana, waffle cone, butterscotch sauce, whipped cream, and creme brulée ice cream have left me much more than satisfied.

 

 

 

All of the excursions last cruise were fun.  I did river rafting in Split, saw the Lipizzaner horses in Koper, took a tour of Nice and Antibes, and went to Pompeii before a drive along the Amalfi coast in Salerno.  River rafting was my favorite by far.  I need to go back to Split later on for a longer vacation.  Next cruise we’re going to Dubrovnik, and I hear that it’s beautiful as well.  Croatia turned out the sweetest surprise of this contract since I had no idea what to expect, and it’s amazing.  Everything is affordable, the city is clean and pretty, and the countryside is breathtaking.

 

I didn’t do any excursions this cruise, but I’ve done some before.  One friend just returned from vacation, and it’s been nice catching up.  Yesterday there was a crew tour to a water park in Kusadasi, and I think it was the first time I swam since we left the Caribbean.  There were a ton of slides and pools, but my favorite parts were the lazy river, the wave pool, and the swim-up bar.

Not a ton is new here.  I do Insanity with a couple of cast members and band members, and that helps keep me busy, but I am getting so excited for Iowa in just a couple of weeks.  Oh my gosh, I fantasize about it.  Daydream about everything I want to do while I’m home.  Don’t worry, I’m enjoying my time here, but it feels like I haven’t been home in ages.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Where is that fabulous ice cream parlor? I wanna go there too. Gma

    Like

    1. Brooke says:

      It’s in Piraeus, Greece. Oh my goodness, you would love it. I’ve never seen a whole menu of desserts before, but they had ice cream creations and mixtures, ice cream cake, normal cake, brownies, cookies, milkshakes, and create your own if nothing else satisfied. Love you!

      Like

  2. Phil Peters says:

    B,
    one month ago today we boarded your little boat. I want to get back on and sail again. I love reading about these new adventures and can’t wait to see you again.
    love D

    Like

    1. Brooke says:

      I think you should come back! Can’t wait to see you again either. I’m in Santorini today at that Assyrtico restaurant. It’s delicious, but not as delicious as when you were here. Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

