Crossing Soon

And now I’m in St. Thomas for the last time.  Tomorrow we’ll be in San Juan, and you know what I’m going to do? Probably just Walgreens, Starbucks, and the beach.  Oh, I am living it up, but inexpensively!

My first day in St. Thomas I came to this restaurant called the Shipwreck Tavern in Havensight.  They have the best burgers, and thanks to my friend Rob, I know they also have delicious Strongbow on tap.  It definitely makes for a wonderful afternoon.

The past few weeks have gone by very quickly.  We got a new cast of singers and dancers, but unfortunately one of them was fired last Saturday.  Rob, a singer from the last cast, was generous to come back to Serenade, so now we’ve got another buddy on board for the next few months.

When I signed on this contract, the cruise director (my boss’s boss) was the same one who was here when I left, and his name was Marc Walker.  His wife had a baby, so he left after about four weeks so he could be with her.  Then we had a guy named Leigh from Australia for four weeks, but he’s gone already.  Our new boss is named Rich, and I think he’ll be here for either six or eight weeks.  Thennnnnn we’ll get the first cruise director I ever had, Ricky, for another eight weeks.  Apparently after that we’ll have one cruise director permanently on this ship, James Andrews.  I’m glad to have the opportunity to meet all these different cruise directors, so if I do other contracts I’ll have the same bosses.

I’ve got a new roommate now, and she’s from Texas.

I’ve been trying to get out and take a lot of pictures, and I’m having a hard time getting them from my phone to my computer.  Some of them have showed up, so I’ll put those up here, but my camera is dead at the moment. I’ll get new batteries today and add them tomorrow.

Thanks for reading so far. I know that I’ve been bad about updating this contract, but I’m going to be much better when we get to Europe and I can see new places.  This Saturday we start our Crossing.  Well, technically we’ll be in St. Maarten on Sunday, but then after that we’ve got six sea days, and then we’ll be in the Mediterranean.  I’m getting all ready for the sea days.  Last week I started reading a book called the Game of Thrones.  It’s also a show on HBO, and my friend Simon bought it a few weeks ago in San Juan.  The book is wonderful, and I needed another book series to get into before our six sea days.  I’ve also got a lot of free classics on my kindle, so the crossing should be a reading wonderland.

If there’s anything you want to know about the ship, let me know and I’ll do a blog post about it.  Sometimes I feel like I’m stretching for topics.  I don’t want to get boring, so I’ll write about whatever you want!

Hope everybody on land is doing well!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Brooke, your postings are wonderful. I am jealous you get to do every day what I have only done for one week in my lifetime. The ports you get to go to are awesome to hear and see about. More information and pictures about ship life would be great too. Keep up the good work. Maybe see you if you play with Max again for the holidays.

    Like

    1. Brooke says:

      Thanks for reading! I really appreciate the comments. During the Crossing I’m going to take more pictures of things we do on board. The crew welfare committee planned events for all the sea days, so I’ll get pictures of everything.

      Like

  2. Phil Peters says:

    FINALLY. Great to read a post. I’ll talk to you today. Yeah!!!

    Like

    1. Brooke says:

      I know, I took too long of a break. More to come!

      Like

Leave a Reply

