Six Weeks Done!

on

Well, it’s the end of my sixth week on the Serenade!  Here’s a list of the guest entertainers I’ve played with so I don’t lose track:

Week 1: Domenic Allen/Tony Tillman

Week 2: Tony Tillman/Diamonds

Week 3: Diamonds/Glenn Smith

Week 4: Glenn Smith/Spectrum (Motown)

Week 5: Spectrum/Scott Record

Week 6: Scott Record/Oscar Silvera

Apparently in a couple weeks we’ll have a guest entertainer act that doesn’t use the band at all, so all of us will have the day off in Barbados!

This week has been packed full of fun things I hadn’t done before.  On Tuesday (Barbados-becoming my favorite port) I got to the Boatyard in the morning, and I expected to just relax on the beach with the spa girls.  Instead, when I got there Korina said that she, Chivonne, Johann, and Adrian were all going to do a snorkeling excursion.  We were out for an hour, and the first half we got to snorkel over a shipwreck from 1919.  There were schools of fish swimming around us, and our guide gave us some bread to feed them.  I think that’s the closest I’ll feel to the Little Mermaid.  Then our guide took us over to a spot where huge sea turtles feed, and we got to watch as the turtles came right up to us! You could reach out and touch them as they swam by! It was so cool, and I’m so glad I did it!

Wednesday…St. Lucia! The last St. Lucia I stayed on the ship and did laundry, but this time I went to a little French restaurant overlooking the water and it was delicious.  I need to spend less money on food off the ship, but it’s hard because there are great places to eat in the ports and the food on the ship is so monotonous.  Every meal on the ship I have a little bit of chicken (different flavors, but chicken’s the safest bet), salad, and either rice or potato. Water to drink, and occasionally a dessert, but those are sometimes a bit fishy too.

Thursday I stayed on the ship because I had to do a bit of laundry, but that night we had a Brazilian music night in the crew bar.  There are more Brazilians than I thought on the ship, and it was fun! Many more people came out than usual, and a lot of people danced as well.  Yesterday I got off for a bit in St. Maarten, and I skyped for the first time since I’ve been on the ship.  If anybody wants to try it, let me know! It’d be fun to see people rather than just talk on the phone.

Today I’m in St. Croix (another favorite place) at the Turtles Deli.  They have free wifi, crew discounts, a beach (where I will go when I finish this post), books to borrow (even to take onto the ship and bring back every two weeks!), and a puppy to play with.  What could be better?  It’s farther down on the island than most crew or guests venture out, and the owners are very friendly.

Last night I watched the James Bond movie Golden Eye for the first time.  Tomorrow I’m going with some other bandmembers and stage staff to see the satellite from the end of that movie.  Apparently it’s in Puerto Rico, not Cuba as the movie says.  More pictures then!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    Brooke – I love reading your posts and I’m glad you’re having a great time! Can’t wait to see more photos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

