Adjusting

on

Well, it’s Day 5 of my ship life.  My week has been jam packed with training, rehearsals, practicing, getting lost, and playing shows.  On Sunday, after a morning of training, we had two welcome shows to play that night.  I have an extremely sweet roommate who works in the entertainment division as well, and everything I packed fit into my cabin! Sooooo all in all it’s been ok.

Right now I’m in Aruba enjoying a little break.  Apparently the hardest shows were on Monday and Tuesday night-one called “Stage to Screen” and the other was a guest entertainer named Domenick Allen (Foreigner member?). We’ll be working every day, but I think the shows will stay the same every week except for the guest entertainers, so we’ll only have a couple shows a night and our days will be free.

All the people on board have been super friendly and helpful.  They always help me when I get lost (because the ship is a maze in the crew areas), and the musicians have been fun to hang out with.  They are all guys, but there are a bunch of girls who work in the spa who will be on the ship for a while, so maybe I’ll get to know them better?  My bass had a bit of a problem, but I figured out how to fix it so everything is fine.  I need to post pictures, but this is the first time I’ve been able to get off the boat in a few days and we just walked around one of the beaches.  I think we can sign up to do crew excursions, and those will be better picture taking opportunities.

Yesterday I found out where to get rolls of toilet paper, fresh towels, and linens.  Definitely a good moment.  I found the library on the ship too! And they had a Tom Robbins book-he’s one of my favorites. Things are getting better, I just have to keep getting used to it.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dear Brooke, way to go! All of us are with you. This is so exciting. And to think I am actually set up to receive your blogs–I’m almost in the 21st century. Love you, Grandma

    Like

  2. Phil Peters says:

    BROOKIEBITS,
    this is fun reading about your adventure. Keep the info coming. I was thinking the other day that this may be the longest period of time I’ve gone without actually hearing your voice in over 21 years. Weird.
    Stay well. Love, Dad

    Like

Leave a Reply

